Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts Employee Reviews

Found 99 reviews matching the search See all 632 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it is a fun workplace
PART TIME WAITER (Former Employee) –  DubaiApril 27, 2019
I only work here as part time waiter. I enjoyed my time as a waiter because I learned also a lot such as good communication, customer service behavior and patience. It was a tough job as physical and also longer hours of work
Pros
free food on duty
Cons
very low salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work place culture
Housing Supervisor (Former Employee) –  DubaiApril 16, 2019
it was a great company but the since the management has changed it completely changed the environment they are not taking care of the experience staff & wanna get rid of it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Communications Manager (Former Employee) –  Abu DhabiMarch 24, 2019
While the hours are incredibly long, there are many wonderful people to work with. Projects are exciting, and provides a true learning experience. Salaries are on the lower end.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment to learned and to grow in the hospitality industry
Health Club and Spa Service Associate (Former Employee) –  DubaiFebruary 5, 2019
My experience working in Shangri- la hotel Dubai was absolutely amazing. it's my honor to be part of that company too much fun while you learn and I really enjoy all the training that I experience.
Pros
free everything
Cons
its ok
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work a lot of benefit
culinary department ,commis 1 (Current Employee) –  DubaiJanuary 29, 2019
good service charge, good providing, it doesn't matter how long your working mean your not wasting your time, that will get great benefit will come to you after your show loyalty
Pros
free accomodation, free transportation, free meal on duty even off
Cons
well of course long hours, its normally
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very much a job secured company
Executive Assistant/ Client Relations Manager (Current Employee) –  DubaiJanuary 24, 2019
Overall its is a good management from the COO & President down to hotel property management. Hiring for attitude is the goal of the group.The career ladder is very obvious as long as you work hard. Chances of relocation is very open except for those countries that visa is a challenge.
Pros
Expat package
Cons
limited medical coverage
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Punctual and responsible
Service Leader (Former Employee) –  DubaiNovember 29, 2018
One of the best company to work in. When I joined to this company couldn't speak in English even and I learned English in 3 month,didn't sleep. I joined as a waiter only and I was promoted to Service leader
Pros
Respectful
Cons
Career
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job
Engineering A/V Technician with General technician (Former Employee) –  DubaiNovember 26, 2018
To congregate my professional skills and develop a strategic approach within an organization that can offer me a challenging opportunity to excel in the given task through the hard work, dedication and also to attain the professional growth based on performance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
That's great Job (housekeeping)
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Abu DhabiNovember 5, 2018
I just work Shangri-La Hotel at Abudhabi (UAE). My position is Housekeeping PA / Room Attended. Everyday room I was cleaning 12 credit. I do the best.
Pros
provide lunch
Cons
lunch time one hour, working hour 9 and half hour include lunch hour
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a good company to work
Service leader (Former Employee) –  DubaiJuly 29, 2018
Excellent Company to work with a very social multicultural team.An individual get a nice compensation and accordingly appreciation for his/her job done.
Was this review helpful?Yes 14NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work environment and career advancement
Commis 1 / Chef (Former Employee) –  DubaiJuly 12, 2018
Indeed a 5 star hotel..room for career advancement..working environment is great..seminars on a monthly basis...confidence boosting...a really good team.
Pros
Management
Cons
Salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good brand with efficient training programs
worked As senior chef de parties (Former Employee) –  DubaiJuly 11, 2018
One of the best international chain of hotel
best employees
best training
quality of hospitality
return guest
good culture
lot of experience learned from different chefs
Pros
team buildings
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shangri la
Laundry Attendant (Former Employee) –  DubaiJune 11, 2018
i was only casual and i worked four years, fortunately i didn't have the chance to become regular staff.
shangri-la is one of the best Hotels in UAE and Asia
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good school of hospitality
Waiter (Current Employee) –  DubaiApril 20, 2018
Shangri-La is a good school of hospitality with high standards in every single aspect of business.
Company has own ideas and culture and follows it.
Relations between management and staff are good, as they give a good support to everyone.
Every single complain or misunderstanding between guest and company or company and employee company solves immediately in a way to satisfy everyone.
Pros
Accomodation, transportation, salary, management
Cons
Did not find, only personal.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
VP Finance (Current Employee) –  DubaiFebruary 26, 2018
Good working environment with more than 10 nationalities. Stretched goals are always set by leadership team with adequate resources to back that up and that helps innovation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cv
Assistant Front Office Manager (Former Employee) –  Abu DhabiFebruary 1, 2018
Director Of Rooms operations
Executive committee member
In charge of Front Office Department, Housekeeping & laundry
Spa & Recreation facilities
Intercontinental Hotels Group-Crown plaza Amman
Job Profile
Functions as the strategic business leader of the property's Rooms Operations. Areas of responsibility include Front Office,, Recreation/Health Club, Laundry and Housekeeping. Works with direct reports (department heads) to develop and implement departmental strategies and ensures implementation of the brand service strategy and brand initiatives. Ensures Rooms Operations meet the brand’s standards, targets Guest needs, ensures associate satisfaction, focuses on growing revenues and maximizes the financial performance of the department. As a member of the Executive Committee, develops and implements property-wide strategies that deliver products and services to meet or exceed the needs and expectations of the brand’s target Guest and associates and provides a return on investment to the owner and the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 24No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
well known company, productive work place
Service Manager (Former Employee) –  DubaiJanuary 26, 2018
very good company with strong food and beverage operation.
the are very on training the staff and invest in people.

it is a chines chain and they respect their staff.
Pros
free meals, accommodation
Cons
short staffing
Was this review helpful?Yes 15NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun at work
commis 1 (Former Employee) –  DubaiDecember 23, 2017
is a good hotel working experiences with big name as shangri-la the leader of asian hospitality in dubai and big property as well and i'm fall in love with the culture of shangri-la
Pros
free lunch and dinner
Was this review helpful?Yes 15NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Lifeguard (Former Employee) –  DubaiDecember 22, 2017
summer time
Shangri_la experience
good
comfortable
every thing easy
when we work together





i would like to recommend my colleges to work in shangrila hotel
Pros
N/a
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 16NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Hospitality
Security Supervisor (Documentation) (Former Employee) –  DubaiDecember 19, 2017
I learned a lot about hospitality way, all day feel very fresh, I got different training section from Dubai police, Rescue team, tourism Dept: Its was nice experience with SLDB.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 632 reviews
5345
4181
370
223
113

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
4.1Job Security/Advancement
4.0Management
4.2Culture

Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts Reviews by Location