National Oilwell Varco Employee Reviews

Found 63 reviews matching the search See all 2,875 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced Working Environment but a Fun Place to Work With
Documentation Manager (Former Employee) –  DUBAINovember 19, 2019
Work in Dubai, We work hard, we had fun as a Team, our business unit is family-oriented and we have a great operations director. He is one of the reasons why people love to work in our business unit.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Challenging work place
LEAD OPERATOR (Former Employee) –  Abu DhabiOctober 31, 2019
Every day I came to work I learn a lot of things like a new procedures, machinery, languages system and etc .because I'm working with different Nationality
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Planner (Mechanical Engineer) (Current Employee) –  Abu DhabiOctober 9, 2019
We can learn lot of things.
Good leadership and working culture.
we can meet different type and culture people here.
we can improve our knowledge and other skills .
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Welding and fabrication all around job
Welder/Fabricator foreman (Current Employee) –  DubaiAugust 17, 2019
A sign.the field for welding and repair.and modification job.fabrication.painting mechanical structural.job gouging.cutting grinding.cleaning all aruond.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace
Planner/Scheduler (Current Employee) –  Dubai, UAEMay 5, 2019
Good training ground,Job stability, Multicultural
Mostly language barrier, Fun place to work, learning the drilling equipment and oil and gas business.
Pros
job secured
Cons
inconsistent pay rise
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company to work with
Internal Sales Administrator (Former Employee) –  Dubai, UAEApril 18, 2019
This was the company I started working with after my graduation. There was a lot of training and learning opportunities. The culture was excellent and people I've worked with were great.
Pros
Flexibility, Fitness equipment at work
Cons
Nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Global Technical Instructor (Former Employee) –  DubaiApril 7, 2019
NOV provides a good working environment with training and personnel development. It complies to health, safety and environment policy. It has a better benefit for its employees and provide opportunities to work around the globe. Recreational activities in Halliburton is poor and there is no room for table tennis, swimming pool, football field.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun invironment.
Maintenance Technician (Current Employee) –  DubaiFebruary 12, 2019
Maintenance Technician with knowledge in trouble shooting control system,pneumatic and hydraulic system ,etc..able to work under pressure and flexible
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor work life balance
Engineer (Current Employee) –  UAEFebruary 3, 2019
There is a poor work-life balance in the office because of the amount of workload. This might be due to poor project management.
No one wants to take responsibility in their work.
Pros
N/a
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was never easy to work in NOV as it always in a rush to complete customers requirements.
Workshop Supervisor (Former Employee) –  DubaiJanuary 31, 2019
Overall it a good company to work but it always there some bad influences that become a problem, when you give monkey the leash to walk the dog what happens.
Pros
Ya free lunch by contributing
Cons
Break should be 1 hr is reduced to half
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work nature
CNC Programmer in NATIONAL OIL (Former Employee) –  Dubai, AEDecember 19, 2018
Nov is a very good company all departments are very well planned working atmosphere..I enjoy the work as well as the fairwell parties also.very friendly nature ...
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
INTERCOMPANY ACCOUNTANT (Former Employee) –  DubaiNovember 20, 2018
Very interesting fully occupied
excessive work load
loads of communication
excessive reporting
tough deadlines
more than one companies
good team support
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Excellent working atmosphere
Dubai as I & C Mechanical Engineer (Former Employee) –  DubaiSeptember 2, 2018
Good team work, Learn everyday new information, All colleagues are experts in their field.
Good management & provide excellent facility to employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Associate Director of Finance (Former Employee) –  DubaiAugust 30, 2018
Great Company. There is a lot of scope to develop and the company provides support to the employees to develop.

I would recommend NOV to anyone. It was unfortunate that i had to leave. No hard feelings.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Initially sales was high however after merger the sales was all controlled by NOV
Production Supervisor (Former Employee) –  DubaiAugust 27, 2018
Prior to NOV merge or buying T3 Energy Services, the sales for OEM and after market services was high. It was after the merge that the sale went down due to limitation on agreements and legalities.
Pros
More centralised management
Cons
Downsized labor due to obsolescence
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pressured but rewarding
Site Project Coordinator for I&C (Former Employee) –  Jebel Ali FreezoneJuly 2, 2018
Daily work is very demanding.
Management handles the staff or employees properly
Workplace is conducive
Work place culture is very multiculture
Hardest part is mingling with different attitude and culture in weekly and monthly basis
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its nice to work here with good management & colleagues.
CNC Machinist (Former Employee) –  DubaiMay 12, 2018
Its nice working here with nice management & great colleagues. Very co-operative management & appreciate hard working employees. Give proper training also for any required jobs.
Pros
Giving extra money for food as per diem 7 over stayed bonus also.
Cons
Low pay, old time leader with okd school ways
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the best qulity
Oil Field Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Abu DhabiMarch 26, 2018
I worked for NOV for 9 years. I learn a lot over the years working with good people.
I like to traveling to different country getting to know lots of different people.,

i was working UAE ,,personally wouldn't work for NOV again different place
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible work culture
Field Service Engineer (Former Employee) –  Abu DhabiMarch 1, 2018
The management in Abu Dhabi is horrible. Terrible working atmosphere , no backing from the supervisors and if anything goes wrong the full blame is on the Mechanical Technicians who go the field . Too many relatives working in the same company and backing is just for them
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Service company that suffered through the oil crisis
Coring Coordinator ME (Current Employee) –  Abu DhabiFebruary 18, 2018
A typical day at work, depends, sometimes i meet clients, sometimes go to the workshop and assist there, sometimes i work from home, which has been a job requirement since moving to Abu Dhabi, answering emails, doing reports and presentations, answering and vetting emails, moving materials, equipment and people, auditing and supervising, ensuring all aspects of coring run smoothly and safely. When a job is finished on a rig, i analyse all the data, review job safety and lessons learned and liaise our findings with the customer.

I've learned a greater appreciation for patience over the last 5 years in the middle east, being the leader of a team helps to improve my approach to guiding and coaching my various teams, i have learned how to better extract ideas and requirements from, my teams, managers and or clients. The hardest part of the job is apathy or people being too busy, the repetition of requesting the same information, the challenge is getting what we need to perform the work to the highest standards and getting it all in time. The most enjoyable part is the problem solving, seeing things other people don't and sharing it for the greater good, to improve, it gains trust, makes them want you in the room when something serious is being talked about.
Pros
It's never boring
Cons
Being on call permanently for 5 years, days, nights, holidays etc
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at National Oilwell Varco. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 2,875 reviews
5983
41K
3613
2156
1117

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture

National Oilwell Varco Reviews by Location