McDermott Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place
E&I QC Inspector (Former Employee) –  DubaiMay 9, 2018
Work start at 7 am till 3 pm . I learned a lot regarding inspection and supervise the quality standard of company. Management is very strick with regards of Opponent Company and with zero tolerance in safety. Have a nice and good work place and they are concern of there employees and employer. The hardest part of the job is during the rough sea season. The enjoyable part of the job is during the team building.
Pros
Free accommodation, transportation and meals.
Cons
6 working days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A company with diverse culture and good work environment
Principal Accounting Administrator (Current Employee) –  Jebel Ali FreezoneMarch 21, 2018
In my 2+ years of experience with the company, I have learned how to work and cope up in a multi culture work environment.

The work experience in the company has made me understand and apply my academic knowledge and implement it where necessary.

The company and my team has guided me in the area of weakness and provided suggestions where improvements can be made personally and in work as well.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is not a place to grow
Engineer (Former Employee) –  DubaiOctober 9, 2017
- No diversity in the company even though it is an international company
- No people development
- Working environment and career progression is low
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Organized Company with all procedures for all jobs maintained
Structural Designer (Former Employee) –  Jebel Ali FreezoneSeptember 30, 2017
Very well organized Company. Procedures maintained well.
A place where anyone would love to work with peace.
Stressed out work but at your peace.
Highly recommend people to work here. Nice people too.
Pros
Systematic working environment
Cons
No Bonus No Job Security
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment
Project Management (Current Employee) –  Jebel Ali FreezoneSeptember 29, 2017
Good job work balance
Good salary and benefits
Many opportunities for growth
Encourages referrals for family memebers
Job security
Great work experience
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive Work Place
Senior Electrical Engineer (Current Employee) –  DubaiSeptember 29, 2017
Competitive work place with growth purely dependent on your aptitude and hunger for responsibilities.
No classifying of talent based on the number of years criteria only - chance shall be given if you raise your hand up.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace environment with Good multiculture environment
Sr. Admin Assistant (Current Employee) –  Jebel Ali FreezoneJuly 26, 2017
I have been working here for 11years. It has taught me a lot about health and safety, good working environment but it lacks in motivation, which at times demotivate me. There is nothing difficult in a job unless one takes it in a positive mind and learning from experienced people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive but poor management
Logistics Coordinator / Offshore Administrator (Current Employee) –  Jebel Ali Free Zone (Dubai, UAE)June 13, 2017
Work is fine, the only thing I do not like is working at offshore because I am not comfortable working at offshore.

Management is not so fine, this is the only company that both husband and wide can work on same department and even brothers, sisters etc.

Workplace is little far from my home, and they did not provide me transportation.

Hardest part is working at offshore.

Most enjoyable is when you finish your rotation at offshore, you will get a big takehome money.
Pros
Offshore allowance
Cons
Family status was not provided
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved working in McDermott
Sr. Piping Designer (Former Employee) –  Jebel AliJune 5, 2017
Best Experience in a fast track project.
very good Fab Knowledge.
especially very knowledge engineers and Leads.
lot of scope to learn to engineering.
Pros
Cheap Lunching
Cons
Very Long hours, week end work
Was this review helpful?Yes 14NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfect place to master your skills
Senior QA Engineer (Current Employee) –  DubaiApril 23, 2017
Mcdermott provides a work environment that is intense and challenging. it is a perfect platform for you to master your skills and put that into application.
Was this review helpful?Yes 16NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-workers
Production Engineer (Current Employee) –  MiwlaukeeNovember 14, 2016
Very nice as the culture has diversity. Team work id the first priority at work.
they use fun and hard work to get an outcome. so they encourage each others.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I'm enjoying my colleage in time of work..
Structural Draughtsman (Former Employee) –  Jebel Ali FreezoneNovember 7, 2016
Hard work, yes about detailing and lofting, cuting list & Shop drawings regarding Structural works, review all AFC approved for construction and starting layout and make project model for our reference.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard core work place
Sr. HSE Engineer (Former Employee) –  Dubai Free ZoneSeptember 2, 2016
Only for the tough guys not for weak hearted.
Strong safety culture.
Good training programs.
High work load.
Rule bound..unhappy and frientened work force.
Very strict.
Pros
Strong management systems
Cons
Overly Documentations. Poor work life balance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company with Quality, Safety, Process and System
HOOK-UP / COMMISSIONING ENGINEER (Former Employee) –  Jebel Ali Freezone, DUNovember 30, 2015
It is a big oppurtunity to work with this company which having ethics, quality, safety, system and process.
I gained and enjoy lot of things which i thought in my previous company i already known lot of things but it's not.
Was this review helpful?Yes 67No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun at work place
Sales and Marketing (Former Employee) –  Dubai, DUOctober 26, 2015
it was realy agood experience for me to work at mc dermott am its really very productive we can enhance our skills and potential
Pros
free accomadation
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 52No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and learned so much as project secretary
Project Secretary to Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Dubai, DUJuly 30, 2015
McDermott is a good company, I learned a lot regarding, my work as a project secretary, improved my ability, values, and personality.

The management is good, my co-workers are very cooperative, responsible and we have lots of good work relationships.
Pros
benefits, insurance, leave, yearly tickets, bonuses
Was this review helpful?Yes 93No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and hard worker
Senior Estimator (Current Employee) –  Dubai, DUApril 1, 2015
Work start from 8am to 5.30 pm and there is half an hour flexibility.
I've learned many new ways of achieving the work with the rule of do it right time first time.
The management there is friendly and the co workers as well.
The hardest part of the job is the commitment as if you have a submission there is no excuse.
Was this review helpful?Yes 66No 11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I have enjoyed every minute of working in McDermott.
Rigging Forman (Current Employee) –  JEBEL ALIApril 1, 2015
Reports functionally to the Senior Rigging Supervisor or the Fabrication Rigging Department. Responsible to set and apply standards of Safety and Quality relative project requirements, reading and understanding Rigging Drawings, Project specifications and Rigging Procedures. Provide the Leaderman with the drawings and information required to do the work.
I enjoy the challenge of building relationship with people both within the company and outside. When I handle the issues, I emphasize the positive points rather than negative and concentrate more on professional trails.
Pros
Free lunch, Transport
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 50No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dirty politics and lack of transperency
Sr Accountant (Former Employee) –  DubaiFebruary 21, 2015
People in this company are focused on politics than performance.
Management of the company is focused more on deliverables only
Salary package is competitive and above the industry standard
Pros
Good salary packages
Cons
Not a good working environment esp in accounting and finance
Was this review helpful?Yes 64No 11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Creative and fun oriented workplace
Senior E&I QC Inspector (Former Employee) –  Jebel Ali, DubaiFebruary 15, 2015
Working along with multi-cultural co-workers and learned the different skills & techniques of the job was the most enjoyable part of the job.
Pros
Subsidized lunch available in the yard canteen
Cons
long travel while going and coming back to Abu Dhabi.
Was this review helpful?Yes 37No 6Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at McDermott. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 129 reviews
548
440
323
210
18

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.6Culture

McDermott Reviews by Location