InterContinental Hotels Group Employee Reviews

Found 220 reviews matching the search See all 2,701 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great guys bad managers
Guest Relations Associate (Butler) (Former Employee) –  Abu DhabiJune 6, 2019
All in all working for InterCon Abu Dhabi is good, except for a very low salary and long working hours.
Managers are strict. But some are adequate.

Collegues are very nice. most of them are supporting when we are new.
But the accomodation they provide is worse than a shelter provided for homeless people. Dirty, old furniture, millions of cockroaches, stinks like a dead skunk, congested.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Low salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work but not a good managmemt as compaired to other hotels in uae
Intern (Current Employee) –  UAEMay 23, 2019
Its good to work here friendly environment and your HR team going to support you very well. You might find not good managment here but other than this everything is good
Pros
Free 3 time meal, free accmodation
Cons
Long working hours because of less number of manpower
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good
Kitchen & Refrigeration Technician Handling HVAC (Former Employee) –  DubaiMay 15, 2019
It is one of the hospitality industry to work,they provide very good support to work with friendly environment they will provide you to move your career opportunity with your effort in your work.
Pros
Meal are provided nice
Cons
Sometime flexible working hours if long they will pay as per ot
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to balance work and social life
Chief steward (Current Employee) –  Dubai MarinaApril 28, 2019
Good place to balance your work and social live. Ample of opportunity to grow within the company . Supports employee development through training programs and orientation .
Pros
Food, housing, medicals
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfect place to work
Accounts Payable Supervisor (Former Employee) –  dubaiApril 17, 2019
i really enjoy the company and my position .the best 100%. al way supporting and helping management . every year staff party every month staff appreciation
Pros
lunch Free and transportation and accommodation
Cons
full health insurance any time you can take break
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
disgusting company
head bartender (Current Employee) –  DubaiApril 12, 2019
don't work for it!!! they treat people like slaves with disgusting salary and working hours. biggest mistake is work for them, don't do that unless you wanna fell really upset every day.
Pros
nothing
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Executive housekeeper
Executive Housekeeper & Laundry Manager (Current Employee) –  Abu Dhabi, AEMarch 19, 2019
Supervises all housekeeping employees, hires new employees as needed, discharges employees when necessary and take disciplinary actions when policies are not followed. Evaluates employees in order to upgrade them when openings arise.
Plans the work for the housekeeping department and distributes assignments accordingly. Assigns regular duties and special duties for housekeeping staff. Schedules employees and assigns extra days off according to occupancy forecast. Maintains a time log book of all employees within the department.
Recruit and train new employees. Assigns new employees to work with experienced help. Checks on the work of these employees occasionally and observes the report made by the supervisors.
Approves all supply requisitions, such as those for spreads and bathroom rugs. Maintains a lost-and-found department and is responsible for all lost-and-found items. Determines the rightful owner and send correspondences.
o Responsible for cleanliness, orderliness and appearance of the entire Hotel.
o Ensure that rooms are made as per company standard.
o Prepare Annual Housekeeping Budget.
o Maintain par stock of guest supplies, cleaning supplies, linen and uniform.
o Organize inventories with Accounts and General Store for linen, uniform and fixed assets.
o Pay particular attention while organizing pest eradication activities.
o Develop and implement Housekeeping systems and procedures
o Prepare reports for management information.
o Assist Purchase department in selecting suppliers for items related to Housekeeping.
o Plan, control and supervise Horticultural
  more... activities.
o Attending and resolving guest complaints.
o Verification of supplies consignments.
o Organize on-the job training and evaluate its effectiveness.
o Approval of the Functional Manual of the department.
o Recommend recruitment of new personnel.
o Other Routine Responsibilities:
o Daily inspection of public areas and employees locker rooms.
o Daily briefing of Supervisors/ Executives.
o Coordinating the preventive maintenance schedule of rooms and public area with maintenance department.
o Immediately attending to guest requests.
  less
Pros
Family package
Cons
Nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
demi chef in intercontinental hotel
Demi chef de partie (Former Employee) –  Abu DhabiMarch 5, 2019
A good management system is in intercon quality of food and service best iken for intercon .to good environment to working area all chefs are helping mentality.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Letter head
F&B Reservation sales specialist (Current Employee) –  DubaiFebruary 19, 2019
I do, dealing with the guest inquiry over phone and email, learned how to deal any guest complaint.
My daily work, doing rooms, and restaurant reservation, one of the hardest part was how to manage a guest with high temper of a tough guest when they dont find the their high expectation from the Hotel as a 5 star Hotel.
Best past was when you received an appreciation from the management, being an winner a employee of the month and being promoted to the 2nd level of your career.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team di lavoro
Restaurant Manager (Current Employee) –  Abu DhabiFebruary 19, 2019
Ho avuto la fortuna e la capacità di lavorare nell'INTERCON e ho trovato un meraviglioso e stimolante team di lavoro
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gentlemen and ladies atmosphere
Room Service Manager/ FB trainer (Former Employee) –  Abu DhabiFebruary 10, 2019
A well-organized workplace
Organizing VIP events like Butler service for Heads of States
Good rapport with management and employees
Good training facilities for development
Hardest part - Managing events like GCC heads of States meeting
Enjoying the respect and team spirit.
Pros
Good rapport with management
Cons
Getting stuck in same position
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and knowledgeable
Procurement Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Abu DhabiDecember 14, 2018
IHG Company is one of the prestigious company with the branded hotels delivering best services in hospitality. Aside of having best services to their Guest. They also giving chance to all of their worker to grow.
Pros
Free Transportation, accommodation and food.
Cons
long hours of work
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educative and fun place to work. With different nationalities and learning from cultures all around the world.
Customer Service Executive (Current Employee) –  DubaiNovember 20, 2018
Working at IHG a big brand with lot of hotels around the world has enlightened me to meet people and empowered me to solve day to day issues. The management is one in a million and they will do anything to make the colleagues happy and reach their careers in the hospitality industry.
Faced an issue where a guest had requested for an early check in and we were fully booked for the last night.Guest was so furious as his reservation was from last night and he wanted to have the room ready upon arrival.Upon seeing his emotions i listen clearly without interfering,then i empathize with him as if i were in his shoes i would have act the same way.Then i apologized sincerely for the inconvenienced caused.Immediately i spoke to the house keeping colleague we allocated a room for the guest immediately and i offered the pool area for the guest if he would love to change.I provided him with a drink voucher and later i spoke to my manager and we managed to give him a complimentary dinner and he was truly satisfied with the kind and swift way we delivered a solution to his problem.

The best part is team outing and bonding.During this time all your stress both work and home are forgotten about we visited the palm Atlantis and one ride could carry all your troubles away.It was just so memorable and finally a drink up and barbecue to end a lovely day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place i have worked at
Dubai ;United Arab Emirates (Former Employee) –  Dubai ;United Arab EmiratesNovember 3, 2018
I learnt a lot to work with different cultures interect with people who speaks different languages. Working for this company taught me not to judge someone and have self respect and respect others too.
Pros
Yes free food was provided
Cons
Normal working hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customer service
Housekeeping attendant (Former Employee) –  UAEOctober 17, 2018
work balance.
Diversity.
Team work.
Company training programs.
Benefits from the company.
The most enjoyable part at work was team diversity and team work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An ok workplace with no such thing as a ping pong table for employees
Chef (Former Employee) –  DubaiOctober 7, 2018
A hotel with a lot of potential but needs the right people to pull the strings for it to work and to make it a better place for employees as such . Management could do a better job to make the work environment better.
Pros
Barbeque nights, ok service charge
Cons
Have to pay for amenties for employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Chef de party (Current Employee) –  DubaiOctober 6, 2018
good place to work.but for me not enogh to grow up my skill over there. And very far our accommodation so its so hard to live. And don't have training programmed for us. And HR is not fair for staff. Only care management level.
Pros
not free there
Cons
health care
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Legal Transactions Officer (Former Employee) –  Abu DhabiOctober 3, 2018
To seek for a challenging position in a competitive environment, Where I can utilize my professional skills and capabilities to excel in the organiztion. I am exploring employment opportunities towards self-progression enabling my capabilities and handling the responsibilities.
Was this review helpful?Yes 17NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best hotels brands to work with.
F & B Captain at Chamas Churrascaria & Bar (Current Employee) –  Abu DhabiSeptember 29, 2018
World wide these IHG brands are the best with customer service, staffing, recruitments,service culture, and learning and development.
Recomend to all.
Pros
Cross trainnings, you can move to any other brands if you wish to work there
Cons
Very busy on weekends
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best hotel to work with
Demi Chef De Partie (Former Employee) –  Dubai festival citySeptember 1, 2018
Joining IHGDFC is the happiest day of my life, I got the chance to meet incredible people there. Everyday was full of fun and happy moments with them.
Was this review helpful?Yes 25NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at InterContinental Hotels Group. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 2,701 reviews
51.3K
4864
3376
299
187

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
3.8Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
4.0Culture

InterContinental Hotels Group Reviews by Location