American University in Dubai Employee Reviews

Found 33 reviews matching the search See all 40 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Easy
Library Assistant (Former Employee) –  DubaiApril 21, 2018
My time working at the university library was spent with a great group of people, and was organised incredibly well. It was easy to change shifts, and the pay was decent, albeit inconstant.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work
Security Supervisor (Current Employee) –  DubaiJanuary 18, 2018
Its ok to work here. U need to be v smart , active and alert all the time. The good point is this that u participate in lots of social activities. Attend conferences and seminars
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Professor (Current Employee) –  DubaiJanuary 13, 2018
I really don’t have much to say about the place. I wish there was more I could say. I had hoped for a much more fulfilling experience but that did not happen.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  DubaiNovember 11, 2017
A typical day here at work is fine. I learned public speaking here. In the hands of young management. Workplace culture is respect each other. Sometimes we have to work on weekends too.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
human respected job
Assistant Professor of Interior Architecture (Former Employee) –  DubaiSeptember 25, 2017
giving courses to junior and senior students
inviting consultancies to see the projects and comment on them
making workshops for hospitality projects
teaching elements of architecture and space & form

this job was not a permanent job
it was summer courses
Pros
courses base
Cons
courses base
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience in the UAE
Director of research and accreditation (Former Employee) –  DubaiJuly 17, 2017
Overall it was a good experience working in Dubai. The work was extensive and rigorous. However it was fun environment. Enjoyed teaching and conducting some research.
Pros
Good experience
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Music and Computers
Music Teacher (Former Employee) –  DubaiJuly 10, 2017
It was my first Job which was international and I really love the atmosphere in this school, it was like family which I really miss when I came to United Arab Emirates, only thing was the salary was not increased even after working 3 years.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a great experience
International Office Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Dubai, AEJune 19, 2017
Long hours seeing as I was both student and staff working long hours during day and being a student at night. but regardless it gave me a strong responsibility to balance my work life and academic life.
Pros
Wide viariety of social life staff + students
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opportunities to work
Physics Grader, English Tutor, Mathematics Tutor (Former Employee) –  DubaiJune 12, 2017
Great educational place for students to find part time opportunities. In the process you get to meet other students that you help. Moreover, being a physics grader puts the students in the shoes of the professor.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 9Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beneficial for personal growth
Resident Assistant (Former Employee) –  DubaiJune 12, 2017
It was experiences to be a resident assistant as I came to know more students than I would imagine. Moreover, I would get a 50% discount on the housing fees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales booker
book keeper (Former Employee) –  DubaiApril 17, 2017
Supplies management with oral and written reports on customer needs, problems, interests, competitive activities, and potential for new products and services.
• Keeps abreast of product applications, technical services, market conditions, competitive activities,
advertising and promotional trends through the reading of pertinent literature and consulting with marketing and technical service areas
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing
IT Specialist (Former Employee) –  SharjahMarch 2, 2017
Amazing environment good management salary always on time provides trainings and trips and events the campus is just amazing and facilies are on the point
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Team Work Environment
Lab Engineer (Former Employee) –  DubaiDecember 30, 2016
it was one of the best places I worked in and enjoyed working there, and I wish I can go back, the only thing that is holding me from doing so at this stage is the low salary that can not meet my financial obligations.
it is a place where you find yourself and lance your work and personal life.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place and team to work with
General Accountant (Former Employee) –  DubaiNovember 29, 2016
Proficiency, hard workers, follow system, good communication between departments, co-workers, selected staff, experienced managers, good servicing for students.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
MATH Tutor (Former Employee) –  Media CityJune 26, 2016
A productive side job beside studying. It was a part time job. I learned how to be productive and patient. The co-workers were helpful when help was needed. The hardest part of the job was trying to answer all the questions in the easiest way possible to avoid any complications. The most enjoyable part of the job was that it was a different kind of experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
regional competition
Civil Engineering Competition (Former Employee) –  DubaiJune 21, 2016
energetic place with a lot of activities.

people are friendly and cooperative.

very well organized competition.

you can learn a lot from the professors there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good, useful
Translator (Former Employee) –  DubaiMay 3, 2016
good, useful. I found it ii a good experience and environment.. it is competitive and challenging to prove yourself through different projects...
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Library Assistant (Former Employee) –  UAEMarch 8, 2016
Lovely people, nice cultural experience in a city with no culture but people of many nationalities who are wonderful, great management,
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place ever
Assistant professor (Former Employee) –  DubaiJanuary 17, 2016
They deal with faculty members as slaves, they are so professional in tricking applicants. Their contracts is filled of loopholes and they are so good in manipulating the laws of UAE.
It is a slavery place over all, if you are coming from a strong institution, don't apply. You will jeopardize your career.
In addition, it is in the free zone area so labour laws do not apply.
Was this review helpful?Yes 73No 24Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Academic environment, with lots of enternainment facilities
Laboratory Instructor (Current Employee) –  Sharjah United Arab EmiratesOctober 10, 2015
Serious academic environment As a lab instructor, I enjoy teaching and working with lab equipment. Also enjoy grading, and evaluating the students.
Pros
vacation and benefits
Cons
healthcare
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at American University in Dubai. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 40 reviews
521
411
35
21
12

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.2Salary/Benefits
3.8Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
4.0Culture

American University in Dubai Reviews by Location